Postpartum update

Its been a long time since i have written… I guess I should start with the fact that Callie was born on July 11th, 2012 at 1:17 pm. Her full name is Callie Marie Groesbeck and she’s beautiful. Wanna see?

20120820-201214.jpg

Anyway, my main reason for posting tonight is this…

i just want to state for the record that Wednesday will mark 6 weeks postpartum for me- the amount of time required to physically heal from a cesarean- yet I’ve managed to: go to a concert, get tattoos, go to a wedding, back to school shop 3 days in a row, and spend 2 days dying my hair. I’ve been up every day chasing kids, changing diapers, dressing, cooking, feeding, cleaning, and all the other things a housewife does. I’ve had my daughter with me for the last week which adds to the amount of responsibility, but definitely doesn’t make it a burden. I’ve come this far in just 5 1/2 weeks.

With Steven my recovery was horrible. I was still in bed, lethargic, and had a horrible infection from my incision at this point. It took me 3 full months to get out of bed. Even then I STILL was in pain and had a hard time recouping. I lost touch with all my friends, didn’t want to leave my house, and eventually just stopped doing anything all together.

Now that I have my life back, I feel really good about myself. I’ve literally changed and pushed through so much pain and emotional suffering to better my life for myself and my family.

Depression played a big role in my last recovery- and I still battle it daily- but now IM in control of it, not vice versa.

So now that you’ve read this, if you still have any negative thoughts about me, think I’m not doing enough or just want to hate, know that at least I have the balls to share with the world what’s going on with me. Who knows, maybe I can help someone? And if- for gods sake- at the end of the day, after all I’ve done for my family my dishes still aren’t done and u want to complain, then that, my friend, is when I’ll ask you to go fuck yourself.

About lovelylizagna

My name is Liz. Not Elizabeth. Not Beth. Not Izzie, Elsa or Betsey. I'm Liz, plain and simple. I have a deep passion for photography and music. I come from a family of musicians, so music is a must in my life. I've been playing the piano for 21 years and I have been singing my entire life. I've recently become passionate about photography and have realized that I'm actually pretty good at it. I have the eye for thing's unseen. I want to make those things viewable, the things I see that most people don't. Other things I like are: my kids, tattoos, reading (a lot!!!) and research. I know, I'm a nerd. But what can I say? At least I'm smart. :)
This entry was posted in Children, Energy, Exercise, family, Free Write, friendship, Health, lifestyle, Mood, Motherhood, update and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

